WEEK IN REVIEW

Weekly Update

Today capped off what has been a dramatic and sad week for our family, friends, co-workers and neighbors.

Earlier this week we were shocked to learn that the teacher Peach had last school year was killed in a horrible case of domestic violence. Today was the funeral and viewing. It’s sad to have to attend your first funeral, especially for someone you knew well, at age eleven. We went together and I probably felt as bad as she did. The sight of her two boys who are about the same age as Peach, in obvious pain after losing both parents was tough to take. They will need all the prayers they can get.

The drama at work was in the end anti-climatic as the state finally approved legislation that will raise Philly’s sales tax to 8%, 2% higher than the rest of the state. That means for now none of my guys will be getting laid off. That won’t erase the six months of anxiety and stress they just went through as the politicians screwed around playing politics with their livelihood. The news came AFTER at least one of our fireman was told he was on the layoff list and one lieutenant was told he would be demoted. Nice.

As for me I took a couple of days off due to the medication I had to take for my back. So far it looks like it’s working but time will tell. Yesterday I had another doctors appointment to have an old finger injury looked at. This time I got a shot in the palm. Apparently I have a tendon injury that will need surgery at some point down the line. I guess years of wear and tear are starting to catch up with me. I really should start taking care of myself.

Anyway that’s where it’s at for now. Tomorrow back to the firehouse in the AM. Sleep well.

3 Responses to WEEK IN REVIEW

  1. Old NFO says:

    Get the surgery while you still have decent medical coverage… PLEASE!

  2. Paul says:

    Take care of yourself CA. I am sorry for Peach’s loss …

  3. […] an aside, if you listen closely, you can hear Captain America swooning over this Hasselhoff photo. Hell, if he gets him drunk enough . . […]