NOTE TO FIRST IN READERS

Call Philadelphia City Council and demand an end to fire station brownouts.

As you all know it’s been a difficult month or so (to say the least) since we lost Danny and Bob. The emotional toll it has taken on the Neary and Sweeny families, our collective Fire Department family, my brother (& sister) firefighters and paramedics, me personally, as well as my family has been enormous. Even though this tragedy is gradually receding from the headlines, it continues to be an everyday reality for those of us close to it. Add to that an administration that continues to play politics with the lives and safety of our members and the citizens of this city at every turn and you have a department left crushed and bewildered. I have finally begun to feel the effects both physically and mentally. It’s not fair to those who read First In  for me to keep writing when my head’s not in it.

While attending to the needs of the Neary family during their time of unimaginable sorrow, I experienced some serious family and personal issues of my own, not the least of which was my father’s (successful) cancer surgery. All this stress has combined to knock me down, but I am by no means out. I just need to take some time to decompress. My family comes first in my life, so that’s where I am starting. Work is second and I will get back there when I am ready. As for the blog, it has always been an outlet, a way for me to vent on some of the things that tend to build up inside. However, for the time being I am putting it on the back burner. It’s not that I don’t feel like writing; I do. But right now I don’t need the self-induced stress of writing posts for public consumption. There is so much going on around me it’s hard to keep events straight.

So I’m taking a break from First In. Rest assured it won’t be permanent. I have started work on my master’s degree and until I get into the swing of things, that will be my focus outside the family and work. It will leave precious little time for blogging. But these things have a way of working out. Hopefully in a short time I’ll be back at it. In the meantime my good buddy Wyatt will throw up an occasional post (as will I). It just won’t be a regular occurrence. I’ll let you know when I feel like I can get back at it. Until then, keep checking in. Of course, if something big hits the department or nationally I’ll make the effort. Thanks for your patience and continued support for First In. It’s much appreciated.

Captain America

10 Responses to NOTE TO FIRST IN READERS

  1. dustoff57 says:

    Not a problem Capt. Yourself and you’re family come first before anything else. A few years ago I lost two young nieces back to back. I was a rough time for me, always asking myself why I never made the time to see them more often when I should have.

    Take all the time you need. Come back 100% and we all shall take on the lib’s and point out their strange antics.

  2. Old NFO says:

    DO what you gotta CA, we’ll be around.

  3. spayandneuterallleftists says:

    Take care of yourself & your family & don’t forget to lean on The Almighty when necessary. God is our fortress & shelter at all times, good or bad. Will be praying for you, your family & co-workers.

  4. Ditto what spayandneuterallleftists said. Hang tough, and knock’em dead with the Master’s. We will be pulling for ypu.

  5. ingineer66 says:

    Masters Degree? Damn that sounds like work. Good luck and take care.

  6. terina says:

    Thoughts and prayers for your dad and family. Masters Degrees? thought you know everything? good luck and God bless!

  7. Bob G. says:

    Cap:
    Hey, we’ve been here for ‘ya for some time…and we’ll STILL be here when you get things sorted out and feel the time is right to return back here.
    In the meantime, you do what YOU need to do.

    You’ve got LOTS of folks praying for you daily (and for those riding along with you and in other station houses(.
    We’re also praying for the fallen and thier families.

    May God’s strength guide your life and may his hand be upon your shoulder…always.

    Roll safe out there.

