FATAL ACCIDENT SNARLS I-95

This accident occurred shortly after a tractor trailer overturned on the Vine Street Expressway, less than a mile away. It tore up rush hour.

A chain reaction crash that shutdown I-95 for several hours Thursday, left one person dead and four others injured.

According to investigators, 38-year-old Nicole M. Sloan, of Philadelphia, was stopped in the left lane of travel on I-95 South enroute to the Columbus Blvd. exit when a box truck failed to stop, striking Sloan’s vehicle causing a chain reaction crash. State police say the impact propelled her vehicle into the right lane where it was struck by tanker truck. Sloan was transported to Hahnemann University Hospital where she was pronounced dead. (LINK)

Terrible, terrible story.

3 Responses to FATAL ACCIDENT SNARLS I-95

  1. Bob G. says:

    Cap:
    It NEVER ceased to amaze me (and not in a good kinda way) how OFTEN drivers just NEVER took time to pay attention to distance and speed…because they BOTH will kill (and damn well).
    Very tragic story.

    The Vine St underpass didn’t fare much better and often it was easier (and faster) to just roll through center city (or Spring Garden St).

    The “Surekill” (I-76) was always notorious for such things, and ALWAYS around “rush-hour”.

    My prayers to the families.

    Have YOURSELF a safe weekend out there.

  2. Jim Curtis says:

    That is truly sad, thoughts and prayers for her family…

  3. Lisa Kihm says:

    Nicole was my best friend of 32 yrs. and I am still in shock that this horrific accident happened. Why was her life taken so soon. I love you Nicole and will miss you forever.

