ROCK A ROLLA TUESDAY: JOE WALSH / EAGLES

Come on… Joe Walsh. Please. Classic.

2 Responses to ROCK A ROLLA TUESDAY: JOE WALSH / EAGLES

  1. Kenneth E. MacAlister Jr. says:

    Funny thing Cap. I like Joe Walsh & I like The Eagles, but I don’t like Joe Walsh with the Eagles or The Eagles with Joe Walsh. Joe Walsh recorded his best work before joining The Eagles (all of The James Gang Albums, “Barnstorm”, “So What”) & The Eagles recorded their best work before Joe Walsh replaced Bernie Leadon. I’d much rather hear Joe Walsh play his early stuff than anything he’s done with The Eagles & I’d much rather hear the country rock The Eagles perfected on the four albums they released before Joe Walsh & the “Hotel California” era took off. The whole hard rockin’ Joe Walsh era of The Eagles just leaves me cold. “Hotel California” is overrated also. I’d much rather hear “Train Leaves Here This Morning”, “Midnight Flyer”, or “Midnight Man”. Bernie Leadon was vastly underrated. For an excellent early Joe Walsh performance live get the 3-CD set by Peter Green’s Fleetwood Mac recorded live at The Boston Tea Party in 1969. One of the encores features an instrumental jam between Peter Green & Danny Kirwan of the original blues based Fleetwood Mac (before they were “chickified”), Eric Clapton & Joe Walsh. The James Gang opened for Peter Green’s Fleetwood Mac on their 1969 tour of America. Later Cap & God bless!

    • Clearly I should have consulted you before this post. My bad 🙂
      I agree I do like the James Gang era where you hear the real Joe Walsh. I have never been a big Eagles fan but found them more palatable with Joe. To each their own. I used this video because there just isn’t a lot to chhose form from the early years as far as quality of sound and video worth posting. You obviously know your Eagles / Joe Walsh. Hope you liked it anyway!
      C/A

