20 TO LIFE

In Philly you don't get twenty years for murder...

Twenty years ago today I made a decision that changed my life forever. Lucky for me it was a change for the better. Today the Oberfrau and I celebrate our twentieth wedding anniversary. In typical fashion for us it’s a low-key event. Since the kids were in school we got to do one of our favorite things… (not that, silly). We slept in.  Then we went to breakfast and shopped for a new TV (ours is on life support). Tonight we may celebrate a little more, but we are both just glad for the weekend off and to be able to spend family time together with the kids.

When we started out we had nothing. In fact my decision to get married was at the time probably one of the most irresponsible things I ever did. No job, nowhere to live, few prospects that things were going to improve in a hurry. I had been rejected by the fire department due to a hearing disability and was involved in a bitter battle to get hired, a battle that I was losing through attrition. I did have one thing going for me: I had a plan that I was determined to follow and I had A’s support to see it through. With her Visa about to expire I had no wiggle room. SO against all advice we decided (after MUCH emotional trauma) to run away and get married.

We met when I was stationed in Germany with the 8th Infantry Division. After my discharge, A followed me two years later after completing her schooling. Like every marriage, ours has been a rollercoaster ride, filled with the ups and downs that life’s journey provides. Looking back we have done remarkably well and are thankful everyday for it. We have two beautiful, healthy children, we both have jobs, our bills get paid and we have our health. I thank God everyday for making that decision and following my heart that cloudy day twenty years ago. I am as much in love today as I was back then. I look forward to another twenty years with my soul mate. Happy Anniversary, A.

Love, D. 🙂

15 Responses to 20 TO LIFE

  1. Captain: Congratulations to you and the Mrs. on 20 years.

  2. ingineer66 says:

    Congrats Captain and to the Mrs.

  3. Old NFO says:

    Congrats to y’all and here’s hoping for MANY more! 🙂

  4. Wyatt Earp says:

    Still can’t believe she married you. What? I’m just sayin’.

  5. The Working Class Conservative says:

    She’s a SAINT! Congrats you two

  6. URSIS says:

    Congrats to you both:)

  7. He Said His Telephone Number Was 911 says:

    Congratulations Cap and “A”, and best wishes for another twenty years.

  8. Thanks to everyone for the kind words. I am lucky and blessed and I know it. Stay safe everyone.
    C/A

  9. Twenty years down and forever to go. Wishing you both another great year together!!!

  10. Bob G. says:

    Cap:
    Congrats on that FIRST 20…!
    (they say that’s the HARD part.,..lol)

    The NEXT 20 should be a cake-walk, right?
    …(or else)

    😉

    Roll safe out there.

