I’M STILL HERE

I’m back. This has been an incredible stretch for me this past week. Since Thanksgiving life has been coming at me in a blur. I have a bunch of catching up to do so here goes. Yesterday I attended the funeral for my cousins husband who tragically and suddenly passed away  the day before Thanksgiving. It was a difficult and sad day for our family. Tom was obviously widely loved and the outpouring of emotion at his service was evidence of that. He touched many lives as a father, husband, coach and person. Ironically many of my co-workers knew him and had no idea we were family. To a person they expressed what a great person he was. His memory will live on in all those lives he touched.

On Monday I had my professional Superbowl. It was time for our yearly station inspection. As the station Captain I’m the facility manager. My bosses boss, (the Deputy Chief) inspects every station in the division once a year. It’s a pretty big deal as every aspect of our twenty-four hour a day operation is scrutinized. It’s a pass / fail affair and in short it is a direct reflection on the job I am doing in front of my immediate boss. Although we make every effort to impress, there is always the anxiety that any sort of professional scrutiny brings.

Stations have failed their inspections in the past and it’s a pretty big deal when that happens. I certainly wouldn’t want to be in that position. Also since the size of our facilities vary from a single engine firehouse with maybe 16 firefighters and one truck assigned to a “crowded house” like ours with an engine, ladder, medic unit and chief with over 50 personnel assigned full-time, our inspection is a much bigger deal. There a lot of things that can go wrong. Fortunately I have some of the best firefighters, officers and medics in the city working at my station. They did an outstanding job prepping and getting everything up to standard. The inspection came off without a hitch and we passed with flying colors to everyone’s relief. The Chief was impressed and that’s all I needed to hear.

On top of all this I am fast closing in on the end of the school semester and there are papers to write, I’m working overtime and I’m still fighting some lingering injuries. Other than that life is still great. I have my family, my health (more or less) a job to go to, I live in the greatest country in history, have a loving wife and two wonderful kids. I have what really matters.

See ya later.

3 Responses to I’M STILL HERE

  1. Dustoff says:

    Congrats Capt.

    Take some time off. I think we can live with out your postings (for a little while 0-: )

    Sorry to hear of you lost. I feel for you. I lost two nieces last year both at 40 years old and months apart from each other.

    Hit the whole family pretty hard.

  2. Bob G. says:

    Cap:
    Great job of getting done ALL that you have to out there…
    (and here I thought I used to be the ONLY one that had weeks like THAT…welcome aboard)

    And always remember, STRESS is not considered a “dietary-supplement”!

    😉

    You roll safe out there
    (Nice picture, btw)

  3. Wyatt Earp says:

    Actually what REALLY matters is you getting up your Christmas lights. You’re making our block look bad!

