McRIB IS Mc BACK!

Woo Hoo! McRib is back!

NEW YORK – The McRib, the elusive sandwich that has inspired a cult-like  following, is back. McDonald’s Corp. announced Monday that the boneless barbecue pork sandwich,  usually available in only a few stores at a time, will be sold at all U.S.  locations through Nov. 14.

Most of the time, it’s up to local franchises to determine when and if they  want to sell the McRib , except in Germany, the only place where it’s available  perennially. But McDonald’s said the response was so great last November when it  made the McRib available nationally for about three weeks that it decided to  bring it back this year. The company, which previously hadn’t sold the McRib  nationally since 1994, declined to give specific sales numbers. LINK

Good Lord are you for real? I figure eating a McRib isn’t something you just fall into except maybe the first time. It’s late, you’re starving and maybe you had a few. Ok I can see that. But the second offense? This is obviously an Obama administration diversion…

I think it’s kind of like a quest- you  leave the house in search of a faux meat sandwich. I have never had the “pleasure” of eating the mysterious and elusive McRib sammy, but after this story I’ll be questing. I’ll be posting follow-up reports on my adventure to try the McRib. And does anyone else find it funny that GERMANY is the only place you can get a McRib year round? Too funny.

9 Responses to McRIB IS Mc BACK!

  1. drjim says:

    Yeah, I ate one of those things….ONCE.

    It was worse than the “food” they served in my high-school cafeteria.

  2. URSIS says:

    I can actually say that since moving to San Diego, I have not had McDonald’s or any other fast food. However there’s a great mom and pop Mexican place right next to where we live, that I frequent a few times a week. (OK I probably live there!) So I guess I’m not totally out of the paper bag meals. But McRib? No way.

  3. Bob G. says:

    Cap:
    I can honestly say I’ve NEVER had one of those…don’t really intend to, either.
    I prefer my charred meat (faux or real) to NOT be from ANY part of ANY animal that jumps over the fence LAST…

    😉

    Roll safe out there.

  4. Raptor says:

    Never had an actual McRib, but my college’s dining hall served what I think is a very close approximation on a few occasions. It was pretty good… compared to the stuff they usually serve, at least, so that’s not saying much. I’ll have to give the real thing a try, if only to appease my curiosity.

    That said, I’ve had real Barbecue before, so I KNOW it won’t even be close. That reminds me; if y’all ever find yourself near the Great Smokey Mountains National Park, you MUST go to the Dillsboro Smokehouse. Best Barbecue on the Planet!

  5. What’s the matter with you people? How can you turn your nose up at pig parts pressed into a rib shaped mold? Throw a slice of processed cheese on it, and a Shamrock shake – I’m in!

