5 YEARS OF FIRST IN!

What better way to celebrate than with a kick ass tank video featuring my two favorite tanks- the Abrams and the Leopard (with an AC/DC soundtrack!)

It’s hard to believe that I have been writing First In for FIVE years today. No editor or help at all. A half a million hits and one award later it feels like I have been doing it my whole life. Along the way I have met a lot of very cool people and have corresponded with folks from all over the world. Quite frankly there isn’t enough time in the day to talk with everyone and for that I apologize. If I don’t always seem to make sense chalk it up to exhaustion.

Thanks to everyone who reads First In for making it a mildly successful blog. Unlike some other big timers I write First In when I can get a few minutes of free time. The demands of family, school, work, extra curricular activities and occasionally sleep all reduce the amount of time I can spend on what is essentially a hobby. For example last weeks poll results on the background were so close I have decided to try some new backgrounds. I’ll be messing around with them until something cool comes along.

There is one aspect of blogging that I am actually proud of though. That is the ability to raise awareness of issues that people otherwise wouldn’t have knowledge of. Reporting on the Philly fire department brownout situation as well as other issues related to public safety, and topics like PTSD for example make this worthwhile. I’ll keep writing and trying to raise awareness of things I believe are important while trying to be mildly amusing as well. Here’s to another five years.

Thanks All! CaptainAmerica

11 Responses to 5 YEARS OF FIRST IN!

  1. Wyatt Earp says:

    Congrats, dude! Five years is a huge milestone.

  2. Christopher Smith says:

    Keep it up, your one of my frequent reads. I did some talking with co-workers today about PTSD and looking for a way to bring the issue out of te shadows. The general impression is EAP is impotent and more often viewed as a punishment, so we overhaul that, replace it or add something. Something that is specific for job stress, ptsd, and suicide prevention.

  3. Old NFO says:

    Well done Sir, and keep it up! We STILL need to go to the range though…

  4. […] of a bus, and apparently it “disappeared.” Personally, I think it may have landed in Captain America’s backyard. No one would find it with all the junk in […]

  5. URSIS says:

    Congrats! Keep up the writing:)

  6. First In is like peeing in your pants: everyone can see it, but only you can feel its warmth! Congratulations Captain!

