AND THE WINNER IS…FIRST IN!

First In: 2011 People's Choice MVB of Philly Blogs.

The results of the CBS Philly Most Valuable Blogger contest are in.  It is my humble honor to announce that First In has won the People’s Choice award in the local affairs category. Hoo ya! Just think –  it only took two weeks of me sitting at the computer voting once every twenty-four hours to do it! It was well worth the effort!

Seriously, I want to thank each and every one who voted for First In. I have to admit that initially I thought I had no shot. A couple of the other blogs bring in many times the hits First In gets. When I saw my ballot position at the top of the list I thought there may be an outside chance to bag a second or third. But  no way number one. I think that just goes to show the people who read First In are a loyal bunch. I am truly humbled by this.

I’ll continue to write about my career as a big city firefighter and any other topic that rattles around in my head. I’ll continue to chronicle the City’s efforts to downgrade public safety as well as shed light on the behind the scenes goings on in the PFD. Be on the look out for more bad grammar, slang, poorly constructed sentences, dangling participles, run on sentences and virtually no punctuation.

In honor of the win I’ll be making a donation to the PFD’s Widows Fund. If you would like to help out you can send a donation C/O:

Philadelphia Firefighters Union, Local 22 IAFF

415 N. 5th St.

Philadelphia, Pa. 19123

Just mark “Widows Fund” on it and it will get to the right place. Once again THANKS to everyone who voted for First In! Stay Safe and God Bless!

21 Responses to AND THE WINNER IS…FIRST IN!

  1. Nate says:

    Strong work Denny… Congrats

    – Nate

  2. Bob Orr says:

    Congratulations, Dennis. Well deserved.

  3. Sally Anne says:

    Right on! Congratulations!

  4. "He Said His Telephone Number Was 911" says:

    Congratulations! Keep up the good work.

  5. Dad says:

    Mom would have been proud. Congrats, Dad.

  6. Dustoff says:

    CONGRATS!

  7. Scarlett says:

    Congrats ! You derserve it 🙂

  8. As always I thank everyone who reads First In. It means a lot!

  9. John D says:

    Congrats, Cap. You’re the man! (Don’t tell Wyatt, he thinks he’s the man.)

  10. URSIS says:

    Way to go bro! Congrats on WINNING!

  11. Kenneth E. MacAlister Jr. says:

    Congrats Captain! I don’t have a lot of time to read blogs, but I make the time for this one. By the way, do you know Jerry Peters? I’m not sure which fire station he works in, but he’s one of my relations (his wife is my aunt’s sister). Take care Captain & stay safe.

  12. Wyatt Earp says:

    Isn’t this one of the signs of the apocalypse?

    Congrats, man!

  13. Old NFO says:

    Congratulations! Well deserved CA!!!

  14. Thanks guys. NFO- I’ve been meaning to tell you I can’t comment on your blog because of the format. I still check in often as I can though.
    Wyatt the end is near for sure.
    Ken- know the name, can’t connect a face. It’ll probably hit me later.

  15. Time for a much bigger fire helmet!!!
    Congratulations Captain!

  16. Bob G. says:

    Cap:
    Congrats and kudos on your win…makes the “Iggles” pale in comparison…lol!

    ‘)

    You continue to roll safe out there.

  17. momhoppes says:

    Congrats! You deserve it!

  18. Ingineer66 says:

    Congrats dude. I discovered that if I voted at work and then again from the home computer I could vote twice a day.

  19. Mike47 says:

    Congrats from the Left Coast! Don’cha hafta buy us donuts or sum’pin?

