PTSD STALKS POLICE AND FIREFIGHTERS

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Unfortunately this clip from “Rescue Me” hits home. The death of Jack Slivinski is still being felt throughout our department. The untimely suicide of the popular young firefighter has many people asking a lot of hard questions. One of the big questions is how many emergency workers suffer silently from this disorder? My personal feeling is a lot. Too many.

But as this clip illustrates most suffer in silence. It’s our culture that we just don’t talk about those things and there are some pretty good reasons why. Performance is one. For the most part we can’t dwell on what we see every day. For many (like myself) we just try not to absorb what we see beyond doing our jobs. I try to treat the job like an assembly line. Treat the patient or resolve the incident as quickly and efficiently as I can because there is another one right behind it. The more I dwell on it the more I will remember and that isn’t happening. That may sound callous but the alternative is to get wrapped up in the often bitter tragedy of a parent who overdoses on Heroine in front of their kids for example. You get the picture.

But although emergency services have dealt with these issues forever, all too often drugs and especially alcohol have been the therapy of choice.  Substance abuse has wreaked havoc on the lives of many cops, firefighters and paramedics. Now we are smarter (sort of). As usual it takes a tragedy to spark change. Hopefully out of the utter tragedy of Jacks death will come a renewed awareness of PTSD and suicide and the toll they can take on first responders and emergency workers.

I have brought the subject to the attention of our union and as I expected, so far nothing has come of it. Hopefully that will change. I will continue the push for baseline and follow-up PTSD testing over the course of our careers so that we can track our people and hopefully get them the help they need BEFORE we have any more Jack Slivinski’s. In the end Jacks tragic death may save many lives.

 http://abcnews.go.com/Health/MindMoodNews/firefighter-ptsd-suicide/story?id=14466320

7 Responses to PTSD STALKS POLICE AND FIREFIGHTERS

  1. Cs says:

    If there is anything I can do to help you in this fight me know. I may not be the biggest fan of firefighters but I truly care about our physical and mental health and safety.

    Paramedic7d@gmail.com

  2. Old NFO says:

    PTSD is a reality… And it does hit all of those who work in ‘life threatening’ occupations… Don’t be afraid of counselling, it does help.

  3. Bob G. says:

    Cap:
    When people talk in hushed tones about “the silent killer”, they SHOULD be referring to PTSD, especially with police and firefighters.
    Keep getting the word out…never give in and never give up.
    The lives you save WILL be worth it.

    Stay safe out there.

  4. momhoppes says:

    People ask me what our department does for high stress calls. There is nothing that is done except maybe talk among ourselves if that. We lost half of our volunteers to drug and alcohol abuse (and a few to subsequent arrests.)

    We are a poor community with a volunteer department. I had to fight to get appropriate gear (finally got yesterday) simply because my reproductive organs are on the inside. I’m not allowed to drive the bus (or any vehicle) because of my gender. The only other woman is a full-on EMT (I’m just a FR/FF) and she only recently in the past couple of weeks has been allowed to drive the bus.

    Try telling any of these people that they need someone to “talk to.”

  5. I write a blog about local government in Rochester, MN. krisgay.blogivists.com

    This is my first exposure to the idea of of police,fire and PTSD. Work on police department issues suggest PTSD is a factor. But this is a department where “nothing is wrong.”

    The major stress factor is not homicides, but rather medicals, gangs and drugs.

    How does one research this issue given the code of silence that exists here?

