WELCOME TO TORNADO ALLEY!

Giant pieces of roof flew everywhere as Rick Cieka made a delivery to The Beer Hut in Northeast Philadelphia on Wednesday afternoon.Rick didn’t know yet that it was a tornado, but his instincts kicked in and he dove into his truck for cover. “It started rocking back and forth and I looked up and saw the cloud spinning and pulling and the roof was gone!” Witnesses saw the huge cloud descend on the 9800 block of Northeast Avenue. LINK

The tornado is possibly the cruelest of natures evil weather phenomenons. It is certainly the most random, destroying some buildings while others close by stand unscathed. That was the situation today in my neighborhood. At about 2PM the sky got dark, very dark. I didn’t pay much attention because I was doing school work and it had been dark and stormy on and off all day. Little did I realize that the fire trucks I heard about that time were heading toward the impact zone less than a mile from my house. An F-1 tornado (confirmed) had touched down in our quiet little neighborhood causing the damage pictured above. Mercifully the Beer Hut (blue tarp) next door was spared and there were no serious injuries. Strangely enough I didn’t bother to so much as look out of the window during the storm. I most likely would have witnessed one of natures most awe-inspiring sights. A tornado, even an F-1 is a rare sight in these parts.

3 Responses to WELCOME TO TORNADO ALLEY!

  1. Wyatt Earp says:

    I get my beer there!!! I was driving by there at 2:20 on the way to work when I heard the Emergency Broadscat System break in with the tornado warning.

  2. bob (either orr) says:

    My brother-in-law’s parents had some small damage in the big mess of tornadoes that hit the Northern Neck of Virginia. Their neighbors, however, got waffled. Tornadoes are strange and powerful forces of nature. (And, yeah, I’m hooked on The Great Tornado Hunt.)

  3. Bob G. says:

    Cap:
    Been through an earthquake in Philly, but NEVER since between 1952-1996 have I witnessed a tornado!

    Amazing stuff.
    (God must be a beer drinker)
    😉

    Roll safe out there.

