VIRAL VIDEO

Just because I don’t blog about sports much doesn’t mean I’m not a big sports fan. I just think there are other guys out there that do sports way better than I could. So this is a change of pace.

Montreal Canadiens Max Pacioretty gets hammered by Bostons Zdeno Charra. Now there is a report that there is a criminal investigation into the hit. Charra was given five-minute penalties and ejected from the game. Ok maybe the penalties are warranted (I’m not so sure). But a criminal investigation? Not so much. I looked at the hit a couple of times and it looked like Pacioretty just flat-out hit the pole head first. He doesn’t appear to have even seen it coming because he makes no effort to duck it. Unfortunate… yes. Criminal? My verdict… no. Without the pole it would have just been a rub out. I hope Pacoretti makes a full recovery. Opinions???

6 Responses to VIRAL VIDEO

  1. Old NFO says:

    Dunno what to think… There ARE more and more serious injuries though.

  2. Wyatt Earp says:

    I saw the game live – thank you NHL Center Ice! It was a great, legal hit, where the opposing player slammed into the stanchion. Not Chara’s fault, and the refs completely over-reacted. Probably shouldn’t have been a penalty, but if anything it should have been a minor roughing. No way Chara should have been tossed for that.

    And the police investigation? Puh-lease. It’s hockey, not figure skating. Not to mention there is no intent here.

  3. Bob G. says:

    Cap:
    GOD, how I miss the old BROAD STREET BULLIES days…!
    Now THAT was fighti…I mean REAL HOCKEY!

    Yes, it was a legal hit (in the above game)…
    Dave Schultz would have definitely approved.

    Stay safe out there.

  4. Ingineer66 says:

    Borderline legal hit, in a place in the rink that is very dangerous. No criminal act at all, not even close. If they are worried about it, then maybe the NHL will have to make a rule about no hitting near the benches where the glass height changes. Then they can be like the NFL with their ban on hits to the head.

