MORE FIRE DEPARTMENT BROWNOUT TRAGEDY IN PHILLY

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Well what more proof do we need to illustrate the disastrous effects of Mayor Nutter’s public safety policies? Now we have two more dead children and there is the distinct possibility that more victims may die as a result of this fire yesterday in the Olney section of Philly. I personally talked with one of the firefighters who made the job and he told me how bad it really was. Once again, the first in company was browned out (closed) due to the Nutter administration’s ill-conceived fire department cutbacks. This is only February and we have nearly one-third the number of fatalities we had in all of last year.

I worked last night. There was ANOTHER fire in a browned out local that most likely won’t get a lot of coverage because no one died. Around 0400 we were called out to cover my old company in Chinatown because they were out fighting another serious fire. In  the first job, Engine 45 was browned out and a fire broke out in their local. It turned out to be a tremendous job with heavy fire throughout the dwelling. We are seeing more and more super-intense fires that many of our younger guys have no experience with. Before these cuts and brownouts, it was getting fairly scarce to have this many intense fires. Not anymore. That only means more tragedy lies ahead.

Folks, it seems like once a week I am posting details of the impact these cuts are having on the department. Morale is destroyed. Equipment is wearing out. Manpower is spread too thin. Firefighters and medics are pushed to the limit and often beyond. And the bodies are piling up. Engine 61 would have been first on scene. The commissioner says that Engine 51 got there in an acceptable time (over 5 minutes). But he’s not saying how long it took them to get water on the fire. Five minutes is entirely too long for the FIRST IN company to simply arrive at  the scene in an urban setting. It could still take another minute or two to get water on the fire (provided everything goes 100%) every time. With a fire like this you need multiple hose-lines quickly combined with ventilation by the ladder companies.

The delays are proving fatal, as our union is pointing out. Here’s the kicker: Mike Nutter will most probably run for re-election unopposed and that means no public debate over these cuts and policies. Somewhere, the devil cracks a smile.

39 Responses to MORE FIRE DEPARTMENT BROWNOUT TRAGEDY IN PHILLY

  1. […] But when can we talk about indicting Philadelphia Mayor Michael Mutter for involuntary manslaughter? […]

    • Rick says:

      “morale is destroyed”….what a joke…you love responding to big fires…fatal fires…you love going back and talking about it. It makes you feel like a man doesn’t it? You’d think it would get old after a while, but not for a grizzly ol slug like you…right?

      • Hey Rick- Your pretty sick. I’m feeling that your not contributing anything worthwhile. Anyone who takes pleasure in an innocent person is pretty ugly in my book.
        Consider yourself warned.

      • Dustoff says:

        ARE YOU OUT OF YOUR F-ING mind fool.

        Every fire is scary. Hell every call can turn from something simple to a nightmare.

        YOU think it’s a good time Charley. Take the test, get your EMT, finish fire school and join us. If you have the BALLS!

        Frickin simpliton.

  2. Wyatt Earp says:

    This city deserves the politicians it votes for. Until the people of our town decide to vote for change (pun intended), more people – ironically, many of whom are African-American – will die.

    • Rick says:

      Easy to see your a racist!

      • Wyatt Earp says:

        Easy to see you’re a moron. You completely missed my point. An African-American mayor and an African-American fire commissioner decided to brown out (Is that racist, too, Ricky?) fire stations. As a result of those policies, people are dying. Most of those people are African-American. Quod erat demonstratum, the two are letting black people die.

        Similarly, the African-American police commissioner refuses to put a new police academy class in, leaving less officers on the street to respond to the city’s skyrocketing homicide rate. 54 murders as of last week. Want to guess the race of most of the victims, genius?

        Pointing out the fact that an African-American administration is standing idly by while African-Americans are dying is not racist, but calling people with whom you disagree “racists” is ignorant.

        By the way, the contraction you wanted was “you’re.” Most computers have spell-check now. It’s free! Idiot.

  3. bob (either orr) says:

    Hey, CA, this is bleeping obscene. Where is the Stinkquirer? Where is the Daily Sports?
    Oh, never mind. They are in Mayor Squidward’s pocket.
    God be with you and your colleagues.

  4. Rick says:

    Hey Captain, what do the african-american firefighters at your station think of your site??…My guess is you have NONE at your station, at least on your shift, unwritten rule is my guess..How were you raised, is your family racist?…how did your daddy deal with black people? I know the answer, don’t even try to “spin” it.

    • What exactly are you saying Rick? I’m thinking your response is directed at Wyatt and not me. Your either too stupid to read or just ignorant. In any event there is nothing on my site that should offend any African American.

    • Wyatt Earp says:

      Hey, Dick – or is it Rick? Are you African-American? If so, you are a credit to your race. Please, step away from the computer and let the adults have a conversation. Preferably adults who know how to use spell-check. Idiot.

      • Rick says:

        You should have been an english teacher, not a firefighter. Are my prepositions in proper sequence, Mr. Earp?

    • Dustoff says:

      Rick…. were you born this stupid, or did you work at it?

  5. Rick says:

    “super intense fires that our younger guys have no experience with”…I thought you haven’t hired anyone for years??….Are you sure the younger guys aren’t waiting for your ol ass to catch up with them? Most fireman ain’t worth a damn over 50 unless they are an engineer or bat chief.

    • No Rick. You are incorrect. We haven’t hired anyone in TWO years while we have lost almost 150-200 guys. Before that we lost over 400 guys. We got so far in the hole that we went through an emergency hiring binge where we picked up maybe 300 guys in around four or five classes back to back to back. That still leaves us in the hole with a lot of lost experience that we can’t replace for years.
      The rest of your comments reflect your mentality.

      • Rick says:

        Is it true that fire fatalities are at the lowest totals in history the last two years? Is it also true that fire runs (not ems) have been declining year after year? Final question, why do you hate a mayor that 86% of the people you serve voted for?

        I also heard that Nutter has cut a lot of stuff, he inherited a 650 million dollar debt. I heard people went beserk when he tried to cut library hours.

        Quit being a hater, if you hate the Philly system so much, go to a slow suburban department where you can make 70 grand rescuing kitties from trees.

      • You are a troll. Fire deaths are cyclical and they are actually up so far this year – as are fire calls. What is worse is PREVENTABLE fire deaths now seem to be the new norm. You have no idea what you are talking about. I hate this Mayor because he is a typical liberal Democrat with his priorities completely screwed up and backwards. He is a hypocrite and a liar. He get such a high % of the vote because THIS IS A ONE-PARTY TOWN AND THERE IS NO OPPOSITION. He will likely run for re-election unopposed even though the polls say he is clearly not liked.

        There is nothing worse than someone who runs their mouth about things they don’t know about. I’ll bet you get that a lot.

    • Dustoff says:

      Really…. have any stats to back up your mouth. I’m over 50 and could run your pour butt in the ground.

      I done this climb in my 40’s 50’s Bet you couldn’t get pass the first 100 steps

      http://www.iaff27.org/image/tid/473

      Moron..

  6. Dustoff says:

    OOPS… Never type fast and be pissed at the same time.

    Either way Rick, your still a puss!

  7. All we need now is Squidward with a fiddle in his hand. It makes my lose my breakfast appetite every time he goes on Fox 29 in the morning and says “fire companies go out of service every day for training purposes.” He conveniently forgets that they also stay out of service for a short period and can drop their training and respond, if the situation warrants! This is why, even though I’m not a Philly citizen anymore, I still get angry about its politics!

  8. Wyatt Earp says:

    Cap – Ignore Dick the Troll. We stop feeding him and he’ll go back under his bridge. He never addresses our responses, anyway – probably because he doesn’t have facts to back his idiotic arguments.

    • Rick says:

      I tried being constructive, all I get in response is “I hate Nutter”…”Nutter killed more people today”….”democrats are evil”…It’s SO partisan!!!….Nutter IS the people of Philly that you care so much about, THE PEOPLE elected him….If they hate him so much, like you guys do, they can bounce him out of office in the primary! Organize and run someone against him!

      I apologize if I made any grammer or spelling errors.
      PS….sarcasm is a two-way street fellas!!

      • Wyatt- he just can’t comprehend what we post. I have already pointed out that he will run uncontested in the primary. This is a one party town so that is the sum of it. Duh.
        Nutter is the people? Really? What is that?
        I get the feeling Rick is a loon from some backwater. Nothing he says makes any sense.

      • Rick says:

        Question

        You and Wyatt are getting your truck squared away for the next run, Mayor Nutter walks in and says “Just stopped by to say hello”…what do you do? What do you say?…I’m curious, is the “hate” just professional disagreements or is it personal?

      • Wyatt Earp says:

        Yeah, “Spermhead” was constructive.

        I don’t hate Nutter. I think it’s funny that he’s sitting idly by as his brownout policies – Oh sorry, is that racist? – are contributing to the deaths of African-American men, women, and children. Apparently, you don’t care about that, though. Flame on!

        You’re a douche, Mr. Cryll, now go away and let the adults have a conversation.

      • Rick says:

        “Squidward”…”Spermhead”…it’s all pretty offensive…like I said, it’s not hard to play the name calling sarcasm game….

        Answer my question….How would you treat Nutter if he showed up at your firehouse?

      • Rick, when you grab a 2 1/2″ hose, wear 100 lbs of protective gear, and hump a burning house or two, you can come on here and pounce on C/A all you want. Until then, STFU you oxygen-wasting troll. Fires won’t stop burning just because Philly’s mayor can’t afford to pay firefighters, and the police, keep the non-municipal unions happy and feed and clothe half of Philly’s populous. It IS partisan when the same party (Democrats) have had near-unanimous control of Philadelphia’s operational expenses for 50+ years!!!

  9. Wyatt Earp says:

    Not an issue for me, since I’m not a firefighter, dumbass. That being said, I would treat him with the respect deserving the office. Just because I don’t respect him doesn’t mean I don’t respect the office.

    And Squidward is as offensive as Spermhead? Who knew SpongeBob cartoons were so vulgar?

    You really are retarded, aren’t you?

    • Rick says:

      Ok…..

      I’ll leave you guys alone. Who am I?

      In 1983 I quit a Big Ten college 20 credits short of graduation to join the fire department in the largest city in my state.

      My family was appalled, they were also the most republican people you could meet. I became the only member of a family of 8 not to graduate from college. Yes, I became the black sheep.

      Guess what, it was the BEST FRICKEN THING I EVER DID IN MY LIFE! I loved every minute of it. In 2002 at our annual physical, the doctor told me I was developing hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (enlarged heart), I had noticed a little shortness of breath when climbing stairs but I just thought I was aging. I told the doctor I didn’t want to work in the office and to give me one more year. He said fine, but he wouldn’t pass me next year.

      I made it for one more year, but I never told my guys I was going to be forced to retire. After my last shift, I got in my truck and drove home and cried like a baby. With the exception of my daughter, I had just left the only thing I really cared about.

      We all have different perspectives, I was ridiculed by hard-core republicans for becoming a firefighter–and I never forgot it, it wasn’t just my family, it was my Reagan-loving college “friends” who looked down on me too.

      This site just rubbed me wrong as a mouthpiece for
      republican politics, in my world, republicans have been a negative.

      No offense Cap, fight for your department, fight for the safety of your city, just remember, some of us have been screwed over by republicans too, and it’s not just me! Stay safe…God Bless

      • Dude you are so out of left field I really don’t know where to start. Just because some tools who happen to be (allegedly) republicans gave you a hard time for becoming a firefighter you are now so twisted up that you can’t comprehend english?
        Somehow you are saying republicans look down on firefighters. That’s news to me. You have no idea what this site is about.
        I detail MY battles with liberal politicians and their policies that have destroyed not just my department but MY city and many others as well.
        I also talk about what it is like to be a big city firefighter from the reality side, not the TV side that so many people think is real.
        Your short career has nothing to do with republicans or democrats as far as I can tell. Maybe you should go back to college.

        IF Nutter had the balls to walk into MY station I would hold a roll call with all my guys lined up, ask him or whatever flunkie he was with what I could do for him and limit my interaction with him as much as possible until he left. No more, no less.

      • Rick says:

        21 years is a “short career”??? The “alleged” republicans were my family dude, trust me they are right wingers!

        Man, I try and be civil, now I’m in “left field”.

        Sheesh….

  10. Rick says:

    “MY station”….that’s not your station, It’s the people of Philly’s station, they paid for it. You are given the privilege of running it, I think we are getting to the root of the problem…just who works for who….Is the fire department supposed to serve you?….or are you supposed to serve the fire department?…..

    • I SIGNED FOR IT and everything in it so yeah I take ownership and PRIDE in it. I also pay taxes.
      The root of the problem is you are a troll with issues that have nothing to do with me. The REAL problem is that your family can’t stand you and you want to blame their politics. I can’t stand you and I don’t even know you.

      • Rick says:

        My republican family can’t stand the fire service, just like MOST republicans…it’s beneath them, just ask that fat-ass Chris Christie….that dude makes me sick!…If you don’t think he’s mocking firefighters, your nuts (not Nutter) just nuts….by the way, the insults are about 5 to 1 your way….your becoming a home site troll, I tried to be honest and nice…you guys have some interesting issues going on, I was shocked at a video of Ayers and Gault going at it on Fox 29…I still won’t take back my God Bless you ol’ Christian you…

        Did you create this site for the sole purpose of people who agree with you only?

  11. Wyatt Earp says:

    Dick, you’re an idiot. Just because your family is comprised of a-holes you impugn every person in America who calls themselves “Republican?” Stop being such a friggin’ drama queen and seek the help you so desperately need.

    In Philly, most firefighters lean conservative. If you knew anything about the PFD or about this town in general, you’d know that. Go spout your Republican hatred somewhere else. This is a firefighter blog first, and a Republican blog second. Jackass.

