LIZZYS’ BIG DAY

It's official- she's a teenager. I'm doomed.

In addition to the usual madness in this house, this weekend we celebrated the girls thirteenth birthday. That’s right I now have a thirteen year old girl living under this roof and things will certainly not be the same anymore. This weekend has been the weekend of Liz with the whole family getting into the act. Saturday night she celebrated with her school friends here at the house. The addition we built a few years back is really starting to pay off as no one really wants to be in the same room with a dozen or so pre/ teens. So out back they go.

In any event they had pizza and soda and listened to crappy pre-teen music and generally made a lot of noise. There were even two BOYS invited. Can you imagine? Neither escaped my close scrutiny. In any event they seemed to have a blast and that what counts.

Today I fulfilled an old promise and I took her to the mall to get her ears pierced. I always thought if I ever had a daughter, it would be really special if I took her to get her ears pierced on her thirteenth birthday. I don’t know why but that’s just me. I know most kids get it done as youngsters and today even the boys have more things pierced than the girls. But I wanted to do something special for her. I think it paid off. For the last week she has been super excited in anticipation of her big day.

She may be a big-shot teenager, but she will always be my little Peach pierced ears and all.

So today, together with her BFF Chasity in tow, we made the sacred trek to the local mall to have the lady shoot holes in her ear lobes. It was funny to me, watching the whole scene play out. I think in the end it all worked out super. She had a great and special weekend that she will remember forever. Liz is totally excited about the new phase of her life, being a teenager. I’m happy to see her growing up and doing so well in all her pursuits. She’s a great kid, I’m very proud of her and I love her a lot.

Happy Birthday Liz.

13 Responses to LIZZYS’ BIG DAY

  1. Ingineer66 says:

    Happy B-day to her and Congrats to you. Your life will be a new challenge for the next 10 years or so.

  2. URSIS says:

    Yes, I remember 13 was the magic age to get the ears pierced. Mom and dad said no way until 13, and I held them to it. And no it’s Lizzy’s turn. Glad she had a great time:)

  3. AM says:

    next milestone is sweet sixteen. start getting that first car ready!

    many many happy birthdays to come, peach.

  4. Mrs. Crankipants says:

    She’s a beauty!
    Happy Birthday Liz, try not to turn your dad’s hair completely gray overnight!

  5. Dustoff says:

    LOL….well Capt. Here’s a shocker. My youngest son was born on the same day. Except he’s not 13. (-:

    Congrats dad.

  6. OleGrannyT says:

    I stick with my original statement you are one of the best dads I have hade the pleasure of knowing. Even if you are my cousin. I am so proud of you,as Dad you your one of the great ones!

