DELAWARE AFTERMATH; CLASSIC CARS DESTROYED

Vodpod videos no longer available.

LINK

Having a fire in your house is a devastating experience. Even a small fire can cause thousands of dollars in damage. The replacement cost for everyday items, the cleanup of smoke damage in fabrics and water damage can easily break you financially if you don’t have insurance. If you do it will still be disruptive at the very least. Some things can never be replaced. I’m not even talking about the loss of life or injury.

All of us have some material things we hold dear. Pictures of our departed relatives, children or special occasions as well as other items that represent something spiritual or emotional that for one reason or another are irreplaceable surround us. Sometimes it can be our life’s work. The other day the welding company fire in Delaware County took one mans lifetime of work and his passion from him. I can’t even begin to think how he feels.

As a classic car lover myself, and a firefighter I empathize with him on every level. I understand someone’s passion for their hobby. Often it becomes more than just a hobby, it becomes their life. I don’t mean that in a negative way either. We all have the things we MUST do. School, work, house maintainance etc. Then there the things we also love to do but in a different way. Spending time with family and friends. Check. Understand. But we all have the things that we LOVE to do, have a passion for and if we could get a job doing it we would quit what we are doing and start tomorrow. Restoration is often like that. People pour their heart and souls into projects like restoring an old car or an old house or boat or whatever. Sometimes people wonder why others spend their time on what they think is a meaningless waste of time. To the enthusiast it is what allows them to keep balance in their life. It is their creative, emotional and artistic outlet. 

I firmly believe EVERYONE needs a hobby. Work is not a hobby (unless you have a job that allows you to do EXACTLY what you love doing). That doesn’t happen too often. For example I really like being a firefighter. It fulfills my professional and economic needs. But if someone offered me a job riding motorcycles for the rest of my days I’d be putting my leather on.

So this fire is especially tragic. Luckily no humans were hurt. That’s always priority one. But having someones life’s work destroyed is a tragedy in its own right. The man was strong for the interview but I can only imagine how he feels on the inside. Hopefully he will find the strength to rebuild. I can’t emphasize enough the need for adequate fire protection. When something is destroyed by fire be it a classic car or a person, they are gone for good.

Comments are closed.

