SOUTH PHILLY DOO-WOP CAR SHOW

It was a rare day off this past weekend where I got a chance to put my Firebird in a local car show. The first time I tried this summer got rained out. This time I almost didn’t make it either. I worked Saturday night (It was busy of course) and I was wiped out when I got home. I grabbed a few hours of sleep the got up around noon. The show was from noon to five so I debated even trying to make it. As luck would have it we had to go to South Philly anyway. The boy spent the night at his friend’s house and that’s where he lives. So I convinced the Oberfrau it was a great time to take the Bird out for a cruise.

We made it in time to enter. I didn’t win but it was awesome to get the chance to actually show my car off. It is unbelievable what some guys can do restoration wise. I was happy that I got a lot of compliments. It seems this year Firebird / Camaro was VERY popular with a lot of middle age guys. Hmmmm.

I didn’t even get to see the entire line up. By the time we hit Geno’s for steaks and walked up and down it was time for the judging. The kids were beat (it was really hot) and it was time to call it a day. All in all the show was great, the neighborhood was great and everyone had a pretty good time. This is my first attempt at posting a slide show. Hope you like it. It’s late and I hope this works. See ya.

12 Responses to SOUTH PHILLY DOO-WOP CAR SHOW

  1. Bob G. says:

    Cap:
    Ah, there is still hope for South Philly…at least near “Passhunk” avenue…LOL!

    ‘Ya done good, sir!
    REAL good.

    Excellent slideshow.

    Stay safe.

  2. Raptor says:

    That looked awesome! I really, really wanted to go to that… too bad I didn’t find out about it until the day of when I already had plans.

    Maybe next year…

  3. Mrs. Crankipants says:

    You were in my backyard and you didn’t tell me?
    Now you’re on my sh*tlist!

    • YOU were the one who told me about it Ms. Fancypants!!! Like I said it was a game day decision to go or stay. I thought I might run into you posing on one of the cars!!!! Who loves ya baby???? 🙂

      • Mrs. Crankipants says:

        1. YOU never told me that you were thinking of entering your car.

        2. I have an email address, AND strangely enough, a TELEPHONE.

        3. Had you communicated with me, I could have posed on your car.
        YOUR LOSS BUDDY!

        4. May I remind you that this is the SECOND TIME you’ve been in
        spitting distance of my firetrap rowhouse, and I get nada, bupkis,
        zilch. I thought we had something…. 🙂

        I have to go now, my buzz from my weekly lunchtime vodka martini is almost kaput.

  4. Wyatt Earp says:

    Oh kids, just get a room already! Heh.

  5. Randal Graves says:

    Did you know that you can see your name once you click on the slideshow?

    • Randal- NO I didn’t. Good pick up and thanks for pointing that out. Like I said this is the first time I used this service. I’ll have to look at the settings and see if that can be fixed.

  6. There is a way to change the setting and I think it’s fixed.

  7. ??? It stopped on mine.

  8. Peach says:

    Lol @ Mrs. Crankipants
    I told him to ask all of his south Philly pals if they wanted to come but NO!!!!! Of course I had to take your posing job!!! LOL

