PEOPLE WHO DON’T GET PAID ENOUGH

This is the guy who restored power to our street the other day after lightning struck the pole. As a firefighter I know my job can be nail bitingly dangerous at times. But I rely on my training and experience to minimize the risks. Despite what some people may think we work very hard at working safely. Yet there are some risks I won’t begin to take.

Electricity is one of them. Like many firefighters, I don’t like electricity much. I know it is a necessary evil, but that doesn’t make me feel any better about it. I suppose the main reason I don’t like it is because you can’t see it. It’s there, invisible and if you make one mistake it could easily be your last. That’s why I take my hat off to guys like this. The storms that blew through our neighborhood this weekend were extremely severe and dangerous. I’m sure there were many PECO linemen out on poles all over the city doing their job. Well done guys.

Just so you understand the situation here: He is two stories off the ground and working alone. The storm is in a lull and about ten minutes after this picture he was forced to retreat back to his truck as the winds, heavy rain and lightning started up again. When it died down he went right back to work. He replaced the (electrode?) closest to his face, the one with the wires attached to it. That’s guts. Thanks to everyone out there who keeps our society up and running no matter the danger.

2 Responses to PEOPLE WHO DON’T GET PAID ENOUGH

  1. Wyatt Earp says:

    And a big round of applause for my tree on the right . . .

  2. Bob G. says:

    Cap:
    These guys are a lot braver than I am…that’s for sure.

    I’ve been “bitten” by electricity a few times…even took B+ voltage across my chest (not the best feeling unless you LIKE not knowing where you are and not speaking for a few minutes)…so I can appreciate what they guys do on those poles day and night.

    They EARN their paycheck, definitely!

    (btw, nice tree, Wyatt…lol)

    Very Good post.

