I’M BACK!

EARLY LOOK AT THE NEW MOVIE VERSION OF CAPTAIN AMERICA.

Thanks to my ISP (Speakeasy) and their better than average tech support, I’m back on-line. Thanks also to Wyatt for covering the front desk while I was being talked down from the ledge. After going through a nightmare week of computer problems, I thought I was in the clear. I was until Mother Nature intervened. A lightning strike hit the transformer pole out back and fried my modem. It also zapped the Mac to the point where all I had was a white screen. No desktop at all. Very Weird.  AND YES it was on a surge protector. The printer and phones on the same protector were undamaged.

I took the Mac right back to Best Buy where the Geek Squad ran a test on it. They suspected the video card may be defective and replaced the computer for me no questions asked. Whew. Speakeasy overnighted me a new router and it was just a matter of plugging everything back in and BAM! I’m up and running.

It is such a relief when you get good tech support. Companies often don’t realize how important that is to their bottom line. Customers who have problems with a product don’t need any more aggravation when the call for help. Prompt attention to their issues and quick resolution of the problem is key to repeat business and customer satisfaction.

I’m feeling pretty lucky today.

12 Responses to I’M BACK!

  1. Wyatt Earp says:

    And yet, you’re still frakking up your links. ERASE the original http: before you put in the new link, chief!

    There’s a post set for later tonight, but other than that, you’re good to go.

  2. Bitch, Bitch, Bitch.

  3. Wyatt Earp says:

    Just trying to help, chief. If you link a major story (correctly), you’ll get residual hits as a result. Blogging 101, my man!

  4. Old NFO says:

    Children!!! 🙂

  5. Randal Graves says:

    Don’t forget to replace the defective surge protector!

  6. I’m not convinced the surge protector was at fault. The printer and the phone base as well as the router and VOIP box are all fine. I think it may have been a surge through the telephone line. Nothing else in the house was affected.

  7. Mrs. Crankipants says:

    Must I come and separate you two?

    Nice to see you back, Captain!
    Glad it all worked out for you.

  8. Spock says:

    You don’t mention it, but you DID replace the surge protector, right? Or you at least made sure the protection LED is still on?

    I’d probably replace it anyway; taking a lightning strike is asking alot (depending on the surge protector), so it’s cheap insurance even if it’s just for MacInTrash…

  9. Crankipants says:

    Get an external hard-drive and use Time Machine to back up your internal drive. It’s automatic. Fortunately, you didn’t have much on the iMac so you didn’t lose anything. CYA! All hard drives eventually give up, and if you don’t back up regularly, you could lose music, photos and work forever!

