RIDE THE LIGHTNING

Hey gang, Wyatt Earp here.  I’ll be co-blogging here for a bit because the Captain is having computer issues.  We had some massive thunderstorms pass through Philly tonight, and during the madness, a bolt struck the transformer between my house and the Captain’s.  The resulting surge knocked out his DSL modem and fried his brand new Mac.  Short version: The mighty Mac is no more.

Suffice to say, the Cap is none too pleased.  He also cannot blog for a few days, so I am pitching in to help.  The Mac is still under warranty, and he going to take it to the ER tomorrow morning.  Hopefully, he’ll be back posting by mid-week.

If you have any pull with the computer gods, say a quick prayer for him. 

8 Responses to RIDE THE LIGHTNING

  1. Ingineer66 says:

    Holy Crap. I think I would cry if I got a new Mac and it got fried by lightning a week later.

  2. Randal Graves says:

    Obama did it.

  3. Wyatt Earp says:

    Ingineer66 – He’s pretty devastated. Damned shame.

    Randal – I’m blaming Bush . . . and Ben Franklin.

  4. Mrs. Crankipants says:

    Captain America and Wyatt co-blogging- it’s like a twisted version of the Mike Douglas Show!

    I’m so sorry Captain, what a nightmare. Here’s hoping you’re up and running soon.

  5. Bob G, says:

    Cap:
    I feel for ya, man…our one system is BACK in the shop for the infamous case of “Boot-Loops”…LOL.

    Happens every few months…can’t do anything but watch it cycle, and I am NOT wiping the disk-drive AGAIN!
    (that gets real old, real fast).

    I’ll be passing along my prayers to the puter guru in the sky.
    (and that’s why I won’t be online during thunderboomers)

    Psst…get a netbook…never hurts to have a “plan B” in the old hip pocket, trust me.

    😉

  6. Wyatt Earp says:

    Mrs. Crankipants – You mean the comnputer issue is a nightmare, not my co-blogging, right?

    Bob G – The Captain has a replacement Mac now, and if just waiting for his DSL modem to arrive on Wednesday. He should be back blogging by then.

  7. Crankipants says:

    Make sure you route your phone/DSL lines through the router. Friend of mine had his Mac fried through the DSL line during a lightning storm.

  8. Crankipants says:

    …through the surge suppressor, not the router. Sorry. There’s a phone plug on most suppressors. Or you can go wireless. Turn on the Airport on your iMac.

