MAC DADDY- IMAC REVIEW

Well I have finally escaped Dante’s 37th level of Hell. That’s the level where you have computer problems. Fortunately I don’t believe in escalation of force. When all hope is lost I go nuclear. This week after another setback with my incorrigible HP Pavilion, I threw in the proverbial towel. I defected to Mac. And so far I am pleasantly surprised. Let’s review:

I sat down at my IBM the other day only to find out that all my ISP and related settings were wiped out. After an enormous amount of BS I was able to re-establish an Internet connection but my wireless router was down. VISTA! DAMN! This automatically sets the stage for phone calls to various tech support all conveniently located in BOMBAY! Knowing the futility of yet another round of phone calls and staring at the imminent loss of no less than two days of my life I decided that something had to give. So I looked around and decided it was time for the MAC.

I had to drive a couple of miles to Best Buy because the Best Buy directly behind my house isn’t MAC certified. Right. The Mac rep was highly competent and answered all my questions. So I bought the IMAC desktop. One box and out the door I go. I waited until the karma was right before setting it up. It was a snap. The computer is basically a monitor with everything built-in. One cord to my modem and one to the printer. Bam! Speakers built-in, wireless keyboard and wireless mouse. Ten minutes tops.

Today was the hard part. Since I have VOIP (My phone goes through the Internet) setting up the Linksys wireless router required some serious terminal time. No one from Bombay could help. I called my ISP (Speakeasy.net) who are awesome with their tech support and they walked me through it. The settings had to be re-installed and once I got them, the one Linksys guy who knew the deal helped me out a ton. In both cases it took getting the employee of the month on the phone to straighten things out.

Once the wireless was set up I was feeling lucky. I set the IBM back up on another desk. At this point the disk drive had even quit. I called HP and explained the entire problem. The guys head was spinning when I told him I couldn’t even get an Internet connection. No kidding I actually got the HP employee of the month. We literally had to go into the registry and delete files to straighten out this problem. But in the end the IBM is back up and running… for now, with the Internet as well.

As for the Mac, I’m impressed with both the quality and performance. I was just messing around with the photo program and it is really cool. The wireless keyboard is a little small especially if you have big paws and the tricked out wireless mouse is a bit sluggish on the pad but otherwise I’m sold. Hopefully I will be up and running from now on with no more issues. It takes a bit of getting used to but it’s worth it so far. I give the I Mac 9 out of ten stars so far. Rock on!

5 Responses to MAC DADDY- IMAC REVIEW

  1. drjim says:

    Macs are nice. I think they’re a bit overpriced, but nice, none-the-less. I just built a new PC for my wife, and put Windows 7 on it. Win 7 is 99% of what Vista *should* have been. A bunch of us joke about it and call Win 7 “Vista, Service Pack 4”.
    Myself? I run a Linux box, but the wife doesn’t care to learn a new OS, so she got Windoze.

  2. Old NFO says:

    I think you will enjoy it for a long time… 🙂

  3. Mrs. Crankipants says:

    MAC addicts are not born, they’re made!
    I’m so glad you’re happy with your iMac.
    They did a great job with the industrial design, it’s a beautiful machine.

  4. Sally Anne says:

    I’d try paper under the mouse… Never cared for how the optical guys went over mousepads. I ran mine on my crappy desk surface but that isn’t an option for everyone, of course!

    I made Sgt. Bones into a Mac guy. It is the only thing he ever consistently admits that I was right about, too.

  5. Crankipants says:

    Try plugging your USB mouse and keyboard from your PC. They should work.

