COMPUTER HELL

UPDATE – Well I am back online, for now. My current HP is supposed to be a media ready flamethrower. It’s been more like a burn out since I bought the damn thing. It came with Windows Vista and I knew there were issues with Vista then. Now it seems that everything is coming to a head.

For some reason my IP settings get wiped out every so often. The IP blames Vista for not remembering them. I reset them and sometimes they stay and sometimes not. Currently, my previously working wireless setup is down as a result. I-pod girl is none too happy, either. On top of it the machine has made two trips back to the factory. Once for a motherboard. SOOOOOOOOO at this point I am thinking about my options and none are very appealing:

Option 1 – Get Windows 7 and hope for the best. $120.00 +/-. Yet there is no guarantee that will solve my problems and could make things worse.

Option 2 – Get a new machine for around 5-$600.00.  Windows 7 will be installed already and I should be up and running in no time. This machine goes back to HP as a lemon. (It’s making a new weird sound now.)

Option 3 – Get a Mac. Cost is definitely an issue and I really don’t know crap about them.  Scary proposal there. I don’t really know which model to buy. iMac or Minimac. I don’t know if I am ready for a Mac yet…

So at this point I’ll open this up for discussion. If you have any opinions now’s the time to get them off your chest! For now it’s nap time. Firehouse tonight.

14 Responses to COMPUTER HELL

  1. Wyatt Earp says:

    Option 2 – Go online and get a Dell. It’s what I bought (with Code Monkey’s help) and Windows 7 is already installed.

    The $399 one has everything you need. It’s small and you don’t need a monitor. BAM! Problem solved. You’re welcome.

  2. Mrs. Crankipants says:

    Don’t listen to him!
    Get a Mac.
    Seriously.
    Stop torturing yourself.
    You won’t be wasting time troubleshooting,
    and you won’t have to worry about viruses.
    I have a mini, and I love it!

  3. A Mac Mini is actually 599 (+tax), and you’d get a %10 discount being a fireman, which more than negates the tax.

    oh, and major OS upgrades on a Mac are only $29, unlike Windows. 🙂

  4. Spock says:

    No MacInTrash!! If you go for a Dell, there’s a discount offered through the union; it’s how I got my current laptop.

  5. Bob G. says:

    Cap:
    And here I am clicking away on Windows XP…!
    (STILL, but it sure beats the hell outta that REALLY old dog with windows 3.0 on it…LMAO)

    I wouldn’t take either VISTA or Windows 7 on a Philly DARE (and a cheesesteak)!

  6. Andrew says:

    For the love of God, don’t get a Mac. If you ever want to actually do anything with your computer, stick with a PC.

    1) You already know how to use a PC, so you’ll still understand how to use it
    2) You can buy a PC at literally HALF the cost of a Mac, and get MORE spec wise out of it
    3) Windows Vista is your problem – it’s quite possibly one of the worst operating systems ever created – Get Windows 7
    4) Did I mention you can’t do anything on a Mac? If all you ever want to do is play with pictures and music, then by all means, go Mac. Other than that, good luck trying to do anything else productive.

    PCs are proven workhorses that run the world. Macs are fisher-price centers for adults who think Garage Band and iPhoto are ground-breaking software.

  7. Andrew – You started off strong, but then just lowered yourself to the depths of a liberal in an argument – just filling in personal insults instead of real talking points.

    While it comes down to a personal choice for him in the end, my Mac’s are not “fisher-price centers”, and there’s nothing you can do on Windows that I can’t do on Mac OS X. In fact, I can probably do it faster, and with less headaches.

  8. Wyatt Earp says:

    Smite – Your mom dresses you funny. Oh, sorry. Heh.

    The only reason I suggested the Dell – besides the fact that I have one – is that I know the Cap’s limitations. A Mac would break his brain. Like me, he has trouble with change, and unlearning Windows while learning Mac would mean lots of calls to me to fix things.

    And sadly, I don’t know that much about Macs, either. I have heard terrific things, but we’re dealing with an idiot here – sorry Cap, but you know it’s true – and he already fried three PCs.

    Um, through no fault of his own. Heh.

  9. Randal Graves says:

    Get a Mac. For the price of your crapped out computer and a new computer, you could have paid less for a Mac. My guess most of your computer usage is internet based and maybe some Word-type documents and spreadsheets; all doable just as easily on a Mac.

    You don’t need to know “anything” about them. Macs are more idiot-proof than a PC. The Windows interface was basically stolen from Mac.

    And if you really really want Windows, you can run it on a Mac.

  10. Mrs. Crankipants says:

    On older episodes of “24”, the good guys used Apple products,
    and the bad guys used PCs.
    Don’t you want to be like Jack Bauer?

  11. Ingineer66 says:

    3 out of 4 of our kids now have Macbooks and they love them. I am still using my Windows XP Compaq machine from 2003 with a couple of upgrades since then. But someday I may have to go Mac. I had one back in the mid 90’s and they were very intuitive then much easier than Windows. What was the saying, “Windows 95 is Macintosh 84”.

