AMERICA’S NEW IDOL: LEE DEWYZE

A few months back I made a prediction about this year’s American Idol show. I got back into Idol this year because it’s a show I can watch with Peach. Sometimes you have to try hard to find common ground with your twelve-year old daughter and if a dopey singing show gets you there, so be it.

Anyway, I predicted Crystal “Momma Sox” Bowersox would win it all. Gutsy call (I’d say) considering anything can happen during the course of an American Idol season. Well tonight was the grand finale and Momma Sox was edged out by a clearly inferior Lee DeWyze. Highway robbery!

Yet in the end it really doesn’t matter. Crystal Bowersox WILL be a star, a very big star. Lee… will do OK. The reality of American Idol is that in the end it isn’t always who the most talented singer is. It’s a popularity contest. When Peach tells me how cute DeWyze is… it doesn’t matter if Momma Sox is the re-incarnation of Janice Joplin, the writing is on the wall. Twelve year old girls VOTE! Forty three-year old men… don’t!

2 Responses to AMERICA’S NEW IDOL: LEE DEWYZE

  1. Robbie says:

    It’s a well know fact that the losers (well except Carrie Underwood) go on to do better than the winners. I cant’ bear to watch it…I feel like I lost an hour of my life I’ll never get back 🙂

  2. Wyatt Earp says:

    Mmm . . . Carrie Underwood!

