READY, AIM…

A Utah judge signed a death warrant Friday allowing the state to execute Ronnie Lee Gardner using a five-man firing squad, a spokeswoman for the Utah’s state court system told CNN.

Before signing the death warrant, Third District Judge Robin Reese asked Gardner if he wanted to be executed by the method he had chosen previously, spokeswoman Nancy Volmer said.

“I would like the firing squad, please,” Gardner replied. LINK

I guess the only question left is what caliber…

For the life of me I can’t figure out how a firing squad can be cruel and unusual if our law enforcement officers are armed with firearms.

Discuss…

3 Responses to READY, AIM…

  1. Old NFO says:

    One blank, so no one is ‘really’ sure who did fire the killing shots, and it’s quick; 4 rounds in the heart pretty much makes them DRT. Quicker and less painful than Ol’ Sparky too! I’d also bet you could sell tickets and draw a crowd! Of course the LWL will go absolutely bats**t…

  2. Sally Anne says:

    Cheap and quick. I applaud Utah for not wasting their taxpayers’ cash!

  3. Ingineer66 says:

    Have they executed anyone by firing squad since Gary Gilmore? I remember he said he wanted them to put a Timex watch on him and then check it after he was dead and say “Timex takes a licking and keeps on ticking”.

