DOWN WITH THE SICKNESS

                                                                                                                                                                                        Strange things happen to you as you age. While many people suffer from allergies their entire lives, I have always been super healthy. I’m the guy Blue Cross makes money off. Sure I have aches and pains (mostly job related) but as far as being chronically ill, it doesn’t happen to me.

So imagine my shock when at a recent eye exam the Doc recommends READING GLASSES! I have always had great pride in my vision. I could see the lettering on highway signs before the Oberfrau could see the sign. Now reading is a constant battle to move the book just the right distance away so the letters don’t blur together. You have got to be kidding me.

Now the other day the boy wasn’t feeling well. I was at work as usual when I got the call he was feeling badly. When I got home I got the rundown on his symptoms: headache, nausea, vomiting. He’s like me in the sense that he is rarely sick. Mom gave him some kid medicine and he went to bed. Slept through the night and woke up fit as a fiddle.

Fast forward to today. About an hour after I woke up I could feel a headache coming over me. I started thinking about the boy and his symptoms and sure enough I had the same thing. I spent the entire morning on the couch, shivering with a pounding headache, hoping to hurl my guts up. (I didn’t). It really felt like my eyes were being pushed out of my head from behind. It’s one of those headaches where the light makes it worse.

The Oberfrau seems to think it’s allergies since it’s the beginning of the allergy season. So far the predictions are for a severe season this year. If it is, it really sucks because I have never been knocked down by allergies like that before. I really feel bad for the boy as well because I know how bad he felt and it sucks.

It’s a little past noon and I have to work tonight. I have a few hours to start feeling better because I’ll most likely be up half of the night. There’s nothing worse than having a headache in the firehouse. It makes for a brutal shift.

I guess it’s only down hill from here. Sigh.

9 Responses to DOWN WITH THE SICKNESS

  1. USAdmiral says:

    Time is merciless when aging is involved.

  2. Rick says:

    The so called Golden years are golden for the doctors

  3. Ingineer66 says:

    There is a nasty virus going around. A nurse told me the name of it, but I didn’t catch it. It hits some people hard in stomach and some hard in the respiratory and sinus system. It is kicking my son in laws butt right now and my wife had it over the weekend. She said the worst part only lasted a day though.

  4. drjim says:

    You probably just have some short-term bug.
    I got clobbered this year with the flu, and it took me over a month to get over it. Told the wife to remind to get a flu shot next year, and if I gave her any static, to remind me how sick I got *this* year.
    Hope you’re feeling better.

  5. Wyatt Earp says:

    “You probably just have some short-term bug.”:

    Yeah, it’s called herpes. Ba-zing!

  6. Peach says:

    Im still healthy and im the one with the most allergies.
    (knock on wood)
    P.S. dad plz dont leave FIRST IN up on the computer anymore

  7. URSIS says:

    Run Peach, run! Yes, there’s been some sick people down here too. The pollen is pretty bad. As for the reading glasses, I got them on my last birthday-ha! Now I can’t believe what a dfference they make:)

