ROCK A ROLLA TUESDAY- RIME OF THE ANCIENT MARINER

After this weeks congressional catastrophe I needed something to cheer me up. This is one of Iron Maidens best songs. It’s based on Samuel Taylor Coleridges epic poem about a mariner who kills an Albatross then suffers the penalty. The song is 13 minutes long so it won’t fit on a YouTube video however this is a pretty good representation.

What’s really cool is the Oberfrau bought the book for me last week when she was out shopping. It is the same book the illustrations in this video were taken from. How great is that? That was really nice of her to hook me up like that. It’s really a great poem. I actually read it with the kids the other day and they got the message loud and clear.

I hope every one has a great day. November isn’t that far away. Enjoy.

3 Responses to ROCK A ROLLA TUESDAY- RIME OF THE ANCIENT MARINER

  1. Andrew says:

    My favorite part of the poem is the irony of being surrounded by miles of water, but not being able to drink any of it.

    Great song!

  2. D. says:

    I teach that poem along with Frankenstein. Two very good cautionary tales. 🙂 (The song even matches its tone and changes to the mood of the poem.)

  3. rawclyde009 says:

    If you enjoyed reading the Rime by Coleridge, you might enjoy a sequel to it by yours truly…

