RUN TO THE HILLS!

Ok gang, tonight I’m in a musical mood. But first I want to point out that the PUNCTUATION POLICE (aka Wyatt) have been sniffing around my blog. It seems my erratic use of the comma, liberal use of capitalization and almost nonexistent use of paragraph breaks has got me noticed. I think I’m on double secret probation or some such sh*t. Whatever. Some of us happen to worship at the church of the run on sentence. I have no time for rules dammit! Be gone with such gibberish! I’ll blog as I see fit! (Many huzzahs, much pounding on tables!!!) Ooops, sorry. I worked overtime today and I’m a little punch drunk as I write this. Sixteen runs in a ten hour shift will do that to a guy. Where was I? Oh yeah. I’m in a musical mood tonight. As you may notice from my sidebar, I have represented three bands that are my absolute favorites. Iron Maiden, Queensryche and Metallica. While my musical taste is kind of all over the map, I’m an old school metal head at heart. Most all rock is on my list from Stones to Zeppelin to Aldo Nova, Bad Co. Rush, Dio, Sabbath, Ozzy, Judas Priest (I know I pretend Halford’s really not a fag) Crue, Kiss, and most of the 80’s arena rock bands. Thats what I grew up on and I still think that era of rock ruled.
These three bands stand out for me for a couple of reasons. Iron Maiden is simply the best pure Metal Band of them all. They really got what metal was all about. Metal is musical theatre for 17 year old white boys. With their mascot Eddie and the cover art by Derek Riggs they took it all to another level. If you get that, you get metal. Alice Cooper got it too. (Schools Out…) Duh. Bands like Zeppelin, & Sabbath really were in a different place. But Motley Crue, Kiss, Alice Cooper, Maiden & even Ozzy on his own really tapped into what Metal was all about. It wasn’t meant to be taken so seriously. (Remember TIPPER GORE?) It wasn’t about Satan & black magic. It was about getting high with your friends and trying to score with chicks while Glenn Tipton ripped his fingers off playing ass kicking guitar riffs.
When Metallica came along they were high school kids like I was at the time. We were all astonished that kids our own age could kick SOOOO much ass. Metallica ruled from then on. Queensryche is just one very talented metal band. They are really the best of the late 80’s wave of metal bands that broke out before that ASSHOLE Kurt Cobain brought grunge and $4.00 cups of coffee to the rest of America. Grunge finally killed off metal as we knew it. When Cobain offed himself he left a vacuum that no one has been able to fill. Anyway the state of music these days is woeful. I’m seriously considering getting Satellite. Since I hate country there is little I can listen to on “FREE” FM. So there you have it. I’m actually pissed that I missed Maiden last week. The boss went to N.Y. for the day and I couldn’t make the show at the Tweeter Center. I hope they swing back through in the spring, I’ll catch them then. I heard that Maiden has a new CD out. I think tomorrow I’m taking a little trip to Best Buy. See Ya. Captainden
11 Responses to RUN TO THE HILLS!

  1. RT says:

    I saw Metallica with Cliff Burton!

    Had front row for Dio.

    Saw Slayer and Megadeth at City Gardens…21 years ago…played tag with Tom Arraya.

    Met Dave Mustaine, twice (deek, but hear he’s much nicer now).

    Hmmm….so much more, don’t want to be a blog-hog. I’m bad enough as it is.

    Oh and one of my friends jumped up on stage at Crue and had Vince Neil in a headlock. Yeee haaa!

  2. RT says:

    Oh…and James Joyce and William Faulkner made no use of punctuation and they are seen as literary gods!

    I consider blogging creative non-fiction…well guess it could be fiction since you really don’t know who is telling the truth and who isn’t…I never lie. 🙂 HOnest.

  3. dragonlady474 says:

    I love Maiden and Priest. Of course I loved OLD Priest. New Priest could suck a golf ball through a garden hose. But let us not dwell on that… The Trooper is my favorite Maiden song, with Flight of Icarus or Run to the Hills running a close second.

    Priest was my favorite metal band. Sad Wings was my favorite Priest album. In fact my favorite Priest song (victim of changes) was on that album, which kicked ass and in my opinion, was ahead of its time. The band I was in did a few Priest songs.

    As for the elements you mentioned, there was only one thing missing. A medieval undertone to the music.

  4. dragonlady474 says:

    BTW…loved the “Killers” cover on this post, and also “Master of Puppets” was the best Metallica album by far.

  5. jt says:

    Rocks not dead, it’s just different. Bands like Crowbar, Down, KillSwitch Engage, As I Lay Dying, are still pushing it.

    Check out The Sword, they sound a little like old Sabbath. Also, Trivium has some pretty good licks – but still kinda draw the “mall” crowd.

  6. Captain Den says:

    Ah yes, the decline of western civilization, part II “The Metal Years”…

  7. Wyatt Earp says:

    Wow, a William Faulkner reference before the band “As I Lay Dying:”

    Eerie!

    Now, someone explain to Den who William Faulkner was.

  8. RT says:

    One of ex-friends (one I miss greatly) is in Decline/Metal Years…he’s getting frisked and telling security to “check my ass all you want” or something like that sentiment.

    FLIGHT OF ICARUS AND HALLOWED BE THY NAME!!!!!!!!!!j

    Faulkner really liked bourbon and branch…that should be a good thing. He’s a complex, yet truly awesome writer. My private email is actually a character’s name from one of his books. I read six in one semester in college. Read “A Rose for Emily.” It is a short story. It doesn’t showcase his complex style of writing, but it will give you an idea of the darkness he used.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Hey,nice blog!!! I found a place where you can make an extra $800 or more a month. I do it part time and make a lot more than that. It is definitely worth a visit! You can do it in your spare time and make good cash. Make Extra Cash

  10. jt says:

    Now that is some damn good information, anon…how about you just send me some “good cash” and I keep my spare time?

