A VERY SAD DAY

There are times in life when you have to check yourself. Step back from the rat race, take a deep breath and hug the ones you love. Today was one of those days. I have two children. Lizzy my 8 year old princess and Nick, my never want to grow up 6 year old. Like most dads they’re my reason for existing. (Oh yeah my wife too:) They both attend the neighborhood public school. Well today one of their classmates was hit by a car and killed on the way to school. His Grandmother was walking him across Roosevelt Boulevard and a speeding car apparently ran a red light and smashed another car that in turn whacked them. The boy was seven years old and didn’t make it. His Grandmother is in bad shape. All because of some speeding ASSCLOWN! Now the twist is that I was at work. (I’m a Philadelphia Fire Captain) Luckily I didn’t hear this particular call over the radio or I would have went berserk. Can you imagine hearing a report of a fatal accident, involving a school student at your kids school? Its like something you see on TV, all the parents go rushing to the school terrified. I didn’t know this particular kid and my kids didn’t either. They were shook up anyway. I do know some of the firemen and paramedics who responded to the call. It’s all too close to home. Death is something kids shouldn’t have to think about. Most of the school kids were told and some were pretty sad. My condolences go out to his family. When I got home you can imagine how big a hug they got. Like I said, some days you have to hug the ones you love. Now get off the computer and go give someone a hug.
CaptainAmerica

5 Responses to A VERY SAD DAY

  1. RT says:

    As a teacher, my saddest days have been when we are informed of a death (of a student, graduate, or other child who happen to go to a private school but are friends with our students)we sign in at the beginning of the day.

    Today’s incident was not only very sad, but also senseless…ass is too nice of a term for the idiot who killed the little boy.

  2. kateykakes says:

    Denny,

    I saw the story on the news last night and couldn’t help but wonder what was so important that that POS had to race through the light for?

    If you’re running late for work, suck it up and be late. If you’re worried about getting into trouble if you’re late, leave 5-10 min. earlier.

    My heart broke when I saw the story.

    A life gone that didn’t have to be…

    Now I ask you, what will happen to the man who caused the accident? Will he do jail time, or will he get off easily, as seems to be the norm in Philly.

    BTW, congrats again on your blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Wyatt Earp says:

    Den, the worst part was the vultures in the media were in the faces of everyone picking their kids up from school. As usual, they got it wrong and were waiting outside the kindergarten. I was PRAYING they would shove a camera in my face, so I could “accidently” break it.

    Sad story.

  4. Captain Den says:

    Yeah its sad that in the end there is not going to be anything that resembles “Justice” for this little kid.
    Kate glad to see a fugitive Domelighter checking in. I’ve been in love with your Avatar for ever.
    Hope you become a regular.
    Captainden

  5. kateykakes says:

    Denny,

    Yeah, Ivy’s definitely a hottie. I’m in love with her too! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    BTW, I’ll absolutely stick around. You’ve got a great thing going here and I’m definitely digging it.

