WE MOURN LT. ROBERT NEARY AND FIREFIGHTER DANIEL SWEENEY

Hello folks, Wyatt here. Captain America asked if I could post about Lieutenant Robert Neary and Firefighter Daniel Sweeney, who were killed in the line of duty on Monday, April 9th. Both Robert and Daniel worked out of Cap’s local (fire station), and he knew them well. It is the first time Cap has lost someone under his command, and as you can probably guess, he is devastated. Currently, he has been reassigned to the family detail – making sure the Neary and Sweeney families are taken care of.

Local 22 released a statement yesterday, and I wanted to post it. It’s below the fold.

To Our Union Brothers and Sisters, Friends and Colleagues:

It is with heavy hearts that we must inform you of the tragic deaths of two of our own, Lt. Robert Neary and Firefighter Daniel Sweeney, both assigned to Ladder 10 on the C platoon, who died in the line of duty in the early morning hours of Monday, April 9th while battling a 5-alarm warehouse inferno in the Kensington section of Philadelphia.

Lt. Robert Neary had 38 years with the department. He had been a Lieutenant since 1983. He was awarded four unit citations in his career. Before joining the fire department, he was a Philadelphia Police officer for three years and served as an Army reservist for 10 years, attaining the rank of Sergeant 1st Class. Lt. Robert Neary leaves behind his wife, Diane, and their three children.

Firefighter Daniel Sweeney followed in the footsteps of his father, Captain David Sweeney (Ret.), and joined the Philadelphia Fire Department in July of 2006. He had been stationed at Ladder 10 since 2007. Daniel was awarded two unit citations in his career. He was the loving son of his parents, David and Marian Sweeney

IAFF Local 22 will soon be announcing ways you can help to support the families of our fallen brothers in their time of need.

This fierce, wind-driven warehouse fire also seriously injured two other firefighters, FF Francis Chaney and FF Pat Nally. Both members are currently being treated at Temple University Hospital. FF Nally is a five-year veteran and is currently in critical but stable condition. FF Chaney is an eight-year veteran of the Philadelphia Fire Department and is currently admitted in stable condition.

Please keep all of our fallen and injured brothers and their families in your thoughts and prayers. We will update you further as more details emerge. We thank you for your compassion and support during this difficult time.

Sincerely,

Bill Gault
President
IAFF Local 22

For those not in the know, Cap lives two doors down from me. We have been neighbors and friends for almost fifteen years.  He sent me a text message yesterday, saying, “This is the worst day of my life.”  Having lost a co-worker in the line of duty, I can tell you that it is the most soul-crushing event you can endure.  It makes you take stock of your life, and forces you to appreciate every precious moment.

Please keep the Neary and Sweeney families in your prayers, as well as the members of the Philadelphia Fire Department – especially the heroes of Engine 7, Ladder 10.

14 Responses to WE MOURN LT. ROBERT NEARY AND FIREFIGHTER DANIEL SWEENEY

  1. [...] story hits close to home because the firefighters were from Captain America’s station. They were his guys. Naturally, he is taking is extraordinarily hard, so please keep him [...]

  2. Jdcalamia says:

    RIP brothers. E7 L10 are in my thoughts and prayers.

  3. Robbie says:

    Please let me know where I can make a donation to the families. My prayers are with the Captain and his brothers :( My heart aches.

  4. Bob G. says:

    Wyatt:
    I understand. I didn’t think the FFs were FROM Cap’s station…that MUST be hard betond belief…

    MY thoughts prayers and condolences are with Cap , his stationmates, and the familes, friends, and brothers of the fallen firefighters.
    Having a nephew w/ the DCFD, this hits home for me as well.

    Roll safe out there.

  5. RIP to them. Prayers for all.

  6. Craig says:

    Please send my condolences to the captain. My prayers go out to the men lost, injured and their families. I feel the Cap’s pain and know what he is going thru. Please tell him to stay strong his men need him. God Bless. RIP Brothers.

  7. dustoff57 says:

    RIP my brothers. Time to rest, no more alarms to answer.

  8. Bob Orr says:

    God bless y’all.
    roll safe.

  9. terina says:

    For my cousins Philadelphia firehouse and their families that lost its members yesterday morning: May God grant you consolation in your pain. For your beloved “brothers in blue” as they have answered the Final Call may they rest in peace. “Eternal rest grant unto them oh Lord and let perpetual light shine upon them.”

  10. Jim Curtis says:

    Thoughts and prayers sent. It is pure hell when you lose someone like that… BTDT, still bear the scars…

  11. [...] Line of Duty Deaths (LODD) of Lieutenant Robert Neary and Firefighter Daniel Sweeney at First In. I did so this morning, and I hope that the post is [...]

  12. fuzzysdad01 says:

    Praying for the families and Cap.

  13. Christine says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. In Jan/Feb 2011 I did my Medic student ride time with Medic 2. I’ve been a long time reader of your blog (found you through the old Domelights) but didn’t make the connection until now. I have quite a few friends at that local, some from childhood, and the guys there made me feel very welcome when I did my ride time. My heart breaks for you, their fellow firefighters and their families.

  14. andrew35 says:

    With over 50yrs.with the PFD & Local 22 I’ve seen many of our Brothers killed & Injured. They never get easier and we all grieve for the families of these brave FF’s & Brothers. To Denny and the Brothers & Sisters E-7/L-10/R-2/Bn-10, we pray for you in this time of grief. Jake

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

