AMY WINEHOUSE FOUND DEAD

Lets just legalize the "safe" drugs...

Singer Amy Winehouse was found dead at her apartment in London Saturday, the UK Press Association reported. She was 27. The “Rehab” singer had a history of battling drugs and alcohol and recently left a British rehabilitation program that a representative said was intended to prepare her for scheduled European concerts. But she cut short the European concert tour in Belgrade, Serbia, last month after she staggered around the stage and stumbled through several songs.

SHOCKA! Who knew she would last this long? I am not a fan of her music but I know many people are. It still intrigues me that so many people are willing to condone someones drug abuse, especially what I call “terminal” drug use just because they have some talent. I know a lot of rock stars have been and still are drug users. I don’t condone that. It’s wrong and sets a terrible example for impressionable youths. Yet when someone is clearly so far gone like Winehouse obviously was it makes you wonder how those around her can look the other way. I see so many junkies in my work every day that I guess I can’t make any sense out of it.

Lately there has been talk from many liberal quarters about legalizing “soft” drugs like Marijuana to raise tax revenue. I think that’s pretty disgusting. Drug abuse destroys many lives. All you have to do is go with me on a call for a drunk driving accident and you will see the tragedy first hand. Anyone who thinks otherwise hasn’t done their homework.

11 Responses to AMY WINEHOUSE FOUND DEAD

  1. Wyatt Earp says:

    I was posting this tonight, but I’m with you . . . SHOCKA!!! The Brits said the death was thusfar, “unexplained.”

    Wow, how dumb has Scotland Yard become?

  2. tania820 says:

    They haven’t sussed out which particular drug cocktail did in Amy Winehouse as of yet.

  3. Kenneth E. MacAlister Jr. says:

    This doesn’t surprise me at all. You would think the number of musicians who have died or done irreparable harm to themselves through drug abuse would be a wake up call to today’s pop stars. Everyone knows the stories of what happened to Jimi Hendrix, Jim Morrison, Janis Joplin, etc. through their drug abuse. A good read on drug abuse & rock stars is a book called “Peter Green, Founder of Fleetwood Mac” by Martin Celmins. Not too many know this story because most music fans believe Fleetwood Mac didn’t exist until Stevie Nicks & Lindsey Buckingham joined in 1975. Peter Green not only formed Fleetwood Mac, but was THE best blues guitarist to come out of Britain in the ’60s (Eric Clapton is to me overrated after hearing this guy play. Eric Clapton got more exposure than Peter Green in the ’60s). Those who have never heard the music of Peter Green’s Fleetwood Mac are missing out on a lot of great music & should check them out. Shameless plug aside, Peter Green developed paranoid-schizophrenia after one too many bad acid trips on mescaline. He ruined what could have been a great career & was out of the music scene for years. He is active today, but the scars from the drug abuse are still apparent. Every libertarian & left wing fool who wants illegal drugs legalized should read this book. Illegal drugs are illegal for a good reason.

  4. Howie says:

    I am going out on a limb and saying she died of natural causes (note the sarcasm).

    She looked horrible in the “after” pictures.

  5. Old NFO says:

    The train wreck finally happened…

  6. don says:

    You’re all dick-heads yet I hope you never have anyone you love fall ill with drugs and drink. You should all be ashamed of yourselves.

  7. A says:

    I totally agree with you that drug use destroys many lives, but who is to say that marijuana is really a drug. it is grown from the earth not man made and the effects of it are not anything like alcohol. like you said ,”all you have to do is go with me on a call for a drunk driving accident and you will see the tragedy first hand.” That is drunk driving not the influence of marijuana so you can throw your example out of the water. Don’t get me wrong I don’t smoke marijuana but ,I do believe that it would be ok to legalize it for tax purposes. I think that the only way for you to really have knowledge about whether it is ok for marijuana to be legal is for you to actually try it and then you will realize that it isn’t the “DRUG” you think it is. So, do your homework first before you completely bash the thought of legalizing it.

    And again don’t get me wrong I do think that “DRUG” use by those musicians and celebrities sets a really bad example for our youth. Have you stopped to think that if marijuana was legal and not made out to be such a bad thing that our youth wouldn’t make such a big deal about it and wouldn’t put so much effort out there to try and get it. kids only want to be cool and now days the cool thing is to do bad or illegal things. Think about it!

    Last but not least, how do you know that the people around her just looked the other way. WERE YOU THERE? Obviously not. People have to fix themselves.
    Rest in Peace Amy Winehouse.

    • Lets hear it for the “legalize pot crowd”! Hooray!
      Marijuana IS a schedule 1 drug under Title II of the Controlled Substance Act. But thanks for playing.
      Driving HIGH is as bad a driving DRUNK, my example and my experience in this area stands.
      I was in high school in the 80′s so again my experience in this area stands (you can say I’ve done my homework).
      It is obvious to the rest of the world that Amy Winehouse had a SEVERE substance abuse problem, her PARENTS acknowledged as much.
      I’m saying that if it was my child I would do WHATEVER IT TOOK (legal or not) to save her life.
      Legalizing drugs for tax revenue is pretty immoral. I guess kids today aren’t much into morality though.

      http://www.addictions.org/schedules.html

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

